Uncategorized

Movie Review: Passengers

On a routine journey through space to a new home, two passengers, sleeping in suspended animation, are awakened 90 years too early when their ship malfunctions. As Jim and Aurora face living the rest of their lives on board, with every luxury they could ever ask for, they begin to fall for each other, unable to deny their intense attraction… Until they discover the ship is in grave danger. With the lives of 5000 sleeping passengers at stake, only Jim and Aurora can save them all.  

passengers

I went in to the cinema having no expectations for this movie, I had watched the trailer, however, didn’t truly understand the concept until I had the actual opportunity to sit down and take in it’s extraordinary storyline.

I have always been a fan of Chris Pratt’s work so I was more than happy to sit down for two hours and watch his face on the big screen. With Jennifer Lawrence, however, I’ve never been a fan for many reasons that you may all have probably seen in interviews etc. Although that is the case, I really enjoyed watching Jennifer’s character, Aurora.

Due to a ship malfunction, Jim (Chris Pratt) wakes up from hibernation 90 years before everybody else on board. Jim is part of a 120 year voyage, consisting of 5,259 people, leading them to a colony planet. While Jim has the whole spaceship to himself, he knows that he won’t make it to the ship’s destination alive and sinks in to deep depression.

After searching through the passengers profiles, Jim comes across Aurora’s and becomes obsessed with her, leading him to make a choice that can only turn for the worst. Jim begins to battle with his morality, waking Aurora up would mean having somebody keep him company, however, waking Aurora up would also mean she won’t reach her destination just like him. What can Jim do? He’s convinced he loves her and is fed up of being alone. Waking her up would be beneficial right?

With a little technical help, Jim forces Aurora out of hibernation and proceeds to lie to her about a malfunction so he can stop feeling so lonely, ask her out on dates and sleep with her. You do know this is murder, Jim? Although it was hard to support the pair falling in love due to knowing Jim’s reasons behind everything, I do still believe that Chris and Jennifer had great connection being as this is their first movie together. Pushing all the bad choices Jim did make, Aurora does accept that this is her life now and the love she begins to show for Jim is in a way scary because of what he put her through but also heart warming because after all he did, she still cares deeply for him and knows that life on the ship is what she wants now, if they found a way to go back in to hibernation, it’s not what either of them wanted by the end.

Of course, there are some questionable situations going off in this movie, however, I was hooked for the entire two hours and I would definitely watch it again. The ending was beautiful but I think I would’ve chosen another one. Although the ending wasn’t as I had hoped for, it still shows that no matter how much shit somebody can put somebody through, they always seem to find the good in them and make something out of it. I do recommend this movie and all I would say is try not to be too touchy because after all, it’s just a film and a great one at that!

Have you watched Passengers? Let me know your thoughts on it in the comments 🙂

Shelby xxx

Twitter/Instagram/Goodreads/Bloglovin’

2 thoughts on “Movie Review: Passengers

  1. I ended up seeing it twice in the cinema. I love sci-if and living on a space ship stuff like this! I was really interested in the world the film had created. I wanted another film exploring the lives on the other passengers as they wake up and I want another film exploring what life on the new planet would be like.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve only seen it the one time but I am in desperate need to watch it again! The film was extraordinary and really exceeded my expectations 100%. I’d love to see another movie based on the world the passengers were travelling too, I have to agree with you on that one! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

