Uncategorized

Blogmas Day Fifteen: Talking As Fast As I Can: From Gilmore Girls To Gilmore Girls (And Everything In Between) Book Review

In this collection of personal essays, the beloved star of Gilmore Girls and Parenthood reveals stories about life, love, and working as a woman in Hollywood – along with behind-the-scenes dispatches from the set of the new Gilmore Girls, where she plays the fast-talking Lorelai Gilmore once again.

lauren-graham-memoir

 After months of watching Gilmore Girls for days and days, Lauren Graham has definitely become one of my top favourite actresses, so to find out she was bringing out a book, I knew I was going to buy it the day it came out!

Lauren hits pause on the present and takes us back to life before Gilmore Girls came in to her life. I giggled multiple times over the stories Lauren shares during her time growing up and starting out as an actress. The first moment that made me giggle was when Lauren was auditioning to become a member of Actors’ Equity, the theatrical union, and whilst singing her audition song ‘Slap That Bass’, the word bass (face, place, ace) was spoken as if you are talking about the instrument, however Lauren pronounced it as if the song was wrote about slapping a fish (pass, grass)! And the fact Lauren thought the audience was laughing because of how good she was, she decided to add some shimming in to the whole scenario… I’m suddenly not embarrassed about anything I’ve done! Another specific moment during her early acting days definitely did stand out to me and that was when Lauren and a few other girls were chosen to audition for a broad comedy play about two cheating husbands and the wives they’re lying to. The role was a French Maid that one of the husbands was having an affair with and when the maid and husband are discovered in bed, the maid stands up facing away from the crowd and the blanket that covers her will drop to the floor, exposing her bare behind to the audience. If that’s not hilarious already, the audition can’t possibly be too bad, right? Oh boy, oh boy, wait till you hear this cracker, the director chose Lauren and these other girls not to audition based on their acting but based on who had the best behind! Are you cracking up with me right now? So the day of the audition, all ladies had to strip from the waist down and as they stand in a row, two girls held a sheet in front of them. The girls dropped the sheet for a brief moment so the director could inspect and then they put it back up and everybody walked back out. I can’t even imagine how Lauren did that! The things you do for acting, aye?

Another situation that Lauren spoke about was how she lived while pursuing her acting career and only having a few plays here and there, making her wonder how she was going to pay her next rent and what else she could do to keep the pay checks coming in until she became a full time actress. It just shows you that while being an actor/actress must be the most amazing and fun job you could ever want, everybody had to work incredibly hard to get there, they went through rejection after rejection, they did plays, movies, TV shows that they most likely hated and they even struggled to live and feed themselves but they got there because they never quit. Lauren did exactly this, she never quit and two incredible TV shows known as ‘Parenthood’ and ‘Gilmore Girls’ came to her and now she is incredibly successful and a well respected actress.

I actually have never watched Parenthood and had never heard of it until reading Lauren’s book, however, I am currently on season 6 of Gilmore Girls and I love the entire thing! Lauren’s character, Lorelai Gilmore is my favourite character in the show and I just adore the way she portrays Lorelai as this cool, fast talking mum who cares immensely about people and tries to be strict only to crack out a joke every time. Mum goals! I loved reading the inside scoop on what goes off on the Gilmore Girls set while shooting and I really appreciate Lauren allowing us to read more in to a whole part of her life, something she shares only with the rest of the actors and crew.

Honestly, this book is outstanding. I haven’t read an autobiography in so long, I’m glad my comeback to autobiographies happened to be this one! I’ve learnt so much about Lauren, I’ve learnt about her life becoming an actress, I’ve learnt about her family and what they have done for a living, I have learnt about her dating life, I have learnt about her fashion over the years and most importantly, I’ve learnt that she is such a wonderful woman and her writing is just so easy and fun to read.

I know I have so many Gilmore Girls fans on my Twitter feed so if one of you comes across this post, get buying this book immediately because you’re going to be in for a real treat! Purchase the book HERE.

Shelby xxx

Twitter/Instagram/Goodreads/Bloglovin’

Leave a Reply

